The Municipalities

Åland is divided into 16 municipalities. Åland’s largest municipality is its only town, Mariehamn, which is home to over 40 per cent of the Islands’ population.

Mariehamn was founded in 1861 and is the centre of political and economic activity in Åland. Out of the other municipalities on the main island, Jomala, Mariehamn’s neighbour, is the largest. The smallest municipality in Åland, and all of Finland, is Sottunga in the archipelago.

Municipalities on the main island

Municipalities in the archipelago